Gesher Galicia is a non-profit organization carrying out Jewish genealogical and historical research on Galicia, formerly a province of Austria-Hungary and today divided between southeastern Poland and western Ukraine. The research work includes the indexing of archival vital records and census books, Holocaust-period records, Josephine and Franciscan cadastral surveys, lists of Jewish taxpayers, and records of Galician medical students and doctors - all added to our searchable online database. In addition, we reproduce regional and cadastral maps for our online Map Room. We conduct educational research and publish a quarterly research journal, the Galitzianer.

You can search our free All Galicia Database, Map Room, and archival inventories, and read about member benefits starting at $36 per year. You can also join online.

Our general contact address: info@geshergalicia.org

Research Projects

Research Projects

Gesher Galicia's current research projects.

All Galicia Database

All Galicia Database

Online database with over half a million records from Galicia.

Archival Inventories

Archival Inventories

Inventories of genealogical records in Polish and Ukrainian archives.

Map Room

Map Room

Large-scale, zoomable cadastral and regional maps from Galicia.

The Galitzianer

The Galitzianer

Gesher Galicia's quarterly research journal, published since 1993.



Przemyśl Identification Project |  Learn more about the project to shed light on 577 index books of unknown origin

Upcoming Programs

    Tuesday, April 6, 2021, 7:00 p.m.– 8:30 p.m. EDT. The University of Connecticut, Stamford: LEGACIES OF EUROPEAN JEWRY: THE SECOND GENERATION AND BEYOND. Moderator: Dr. Frederick Roden, Professor of English and Coordinator of the UConn Stamford Center for Judaic Studies and Contemporary Jewish Life. Panelists: Andrew Zalewski, Gesher Galicia; Leora Tec, Bridge to Poland; Ralph Berger. This program is co-sponsored by Gesher Galicia and open to the public. Register here.

    June 21-24, 2021, 10:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m. EDT. A special course through the Gesher Galicia-Gratz College partnership held via Zoom: “THE PATH TO MODERNITY.” For the beginners and seasoned genealogists from around the world, this four-part course will explore the social and cultural transformation of Galician Jewry drawing on unique material. To find more about the topics please click here. The class size is limited, so be sure to register early! Register here. For questions about registration, please contact Lori Cohen (lcohen@gratz.edu).

Recent Programs

    March 23rd, 2021, 2:00 p.m. EDT. Gesher Galicia President Steven Turner was honored to be invited to give a talk by JewishGen entitled, “Highlighting the Partnership Between Gesher Galicia and JewishGen.” The partnership between Gesher Galicia and JewishGen is such an important one for the Jewish genealogy community.

    Sunday, February 21, 2021, 10:00 a.m. PST (1:00 p.m. EST). A virtual meeting hosted by the JGS of Sacramento featuring Andrew Zalewski, VP of Gesher Galicia who will present JEWISH GALICIA: VIBRANT PAST REDISCOVERED. The talk is of interest to audiences interested in Jewish genealogy and will be illustrated by historical images, archival documents, and maps. Through different sources discover the largest Jewish community in multiethnic Austria-Hungary. To join click here.

    Sunday, November 8th, 2020, Zoom Membership Meeting live from 12:00 p.m. to 1:00 p.m. US EST (9-10 a.m. Pacific, 5 -6 p.m. UK, 6-7 p.m. Central Europe, 7-8 p.m. Israel, 4 a.m.-5 a.m. next day Australia). Please join us for updates and Q&A. Reserve your spot here.

Gesher Galicia is a partner of the following organizations:

Jewish Historical Institute
Galicia Jewish Museum
Gratz College
Center for Urban History of East Central Europe
POLIN
European Jewish Cemeteries Initiative
Ossolineum